563 West 500 South, Suite 440,
Bountiful, UT 84010

Call Us Today for a FREE Initial Consultation


Protecting Your Future.

The Experience & Dedication You Need.

The Qualified Criminal Defense Team in Salt Lake City

What Are the Penalties for a First-Time DUI in Utah?

Posted on in DUI

salt lake city DUI lawyerMost people understand the dangers of drunk driving, and they know that operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs is against the law. However, violations of the law do occur, and whether this happens because a person made a mistake, because they struggle with substance abuse, or for other reasons, being arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) can put them in a difficult situation. For those who have never previously faced accusations or charges of DUI, understanding what to expect can be difficult, and they may be unsure about the potential consequences they may face. Fortunately, by working with a criminal defense lawyer, they can determine their best options for dealing with this situation.

First-Time DUI Charges

The first thing to understand about DUI cases in Utah is that the state has a lower legal limit for drunk driving than most of the rest of the United States. Whereas drivers in other states are allowed to drive as long as their blood alcohol content (BAC) is below .08 percent, drivers in Utah may face DUI charges if they have a BAC of .05 percent or more. In fact, DUI charges may even apply if a person’s BAC is below the legal limit, since Utah law states that a person is prohibited from being in physical control of a vehicle in any situations where alcohol, drugs, or combinations of multiple substances have made them incapable of operating a vehicle safely.

A first-time DUI charge is usually considered to be a Class B misdemeanor, although charges may be increased to a Class A misdemeanor if a driver had a passenger in their vehicle who was under the age of 16, if the driver was over the age of 21 and had a passenger under the age of 18, or if the person was driving on the wrong side of the road.

The penalties for a first-time DUI conviction may include:

  • A mandatory sentence of at least two days in prison or 48 hours of community service. If a person had a BAC of .16 percent or higher, they may be required to serve a mandatory five-day sentence or a two-day sentence followed by at least 30 days of house arrest, along with electronic monitoring and substance abuse testing.

  • A minimum fine of $700, as well as impound, towing, and storage fees for their vehicle.

  • A screening and assessment for drug or alcohol addiction. A person may then be ordered to participate in an educational course, or they may be required to receive substance abuse treatment or participate in a 24/7 sobriety program. Participation in a sobriety program may lead a judge to suspend the mandatory jail sentence.

  • A sentence of probation, during which a driver will be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) on all vehicles they own. An IID will test a driver’s blood alcohol content before driving and during transit, and a person will be unable to drive unless they have a BAC under .02 percent.

  • A driver’s license suspension of at least 120 days.

Contact Our Salt Lake City DUI Attorneys

If you have been arrested for DUI for the first time, you may be able to defend against these charges and avoid the penalties described above, but it is important to act quickly to ensure that an attorney can help you protect your rights. Collins Rupp, P.C. can provide the legal help you need in these situations, and we will work to ensure that you can get through this situation with minimal disruption to your life. Contact our Davis County, UT DUI defense lawyers today at 385-777-2753 to arrange a free consultation.





Dedicated Criminal Defense

We handle various legal matters on our clients' behalves. Whether you have made the decision to dispute criminal charges against you, or expunge your record, our firm is here to help. Both of our leading Salt Lake City criminal defense attorneys are hands-on with the cases we handle. You are guaranteed to receive the personalized attention you deserve when you turn your matters over to us. We even offer flat fees for certain cases and financing options without the credit check. During your free, hour-long consultation with us, we advise you on your options and the next steps to take for your case.

Representation You Can Count On

Collins Rupp, P.C.

Thorough Preparation

We perform a free eligibility assessment of your record and do an extensive investigation of your case.

Collins Rupp, P.C.

Comprehensive Guidance

When you work with Collins Rupp, P.C., our lead attorneys see all cases through from beginning to end.

Collins Rupp, P.C.

Reasonable Pricing

We charge clients a low flat fee and even allow low money down payment plans.

Collins Rupp, P.C.

24/7 Accessibility

Our clients are always able to get ahold of us and receive our cell phone numbers to reach us day or night.

Collins Rupp, P.C.

Distinct Experience

Attorney Rupp began his career defending the constitution as a U.S. Marine Corps officer.

Collins Rupp, P.C.

Effective Negotiator

Attorney Collins uses his early education and career experience to help clients solve their legal problems.

Your Defense Team

Meet the Attorneys

Highly Recommended

  • They are great with communication, whether it be text or call, and took me step by step through the entire process with 100% transparency and clarity. Do yourself a favor by not wasting time and money and contact Mr. Logan Collins Mr. Joseph Rupp if you ever find yourself in a similar situation as myself

    - Marcel

  • The whole system seemed stacked against me. Logan not only got my DUI charge dismissed, he also got my license reinstated without penalties (after an appeal to the district court), which really seemed impossible. I recommend Logan Collins to anyone in need

    - Kameron

Back to Top