563 West 500 South, Suite 440,
Bountiful, UT 84010

Call Us Today for a FREE Initial Consultation


Salt Lake City Assault Lawyers

Collins Rupp, P.C.

Facing Domestic Violence Charges in Utah?

Accusations of domestic violence or assault can have a grave impact on your life and livelihood. Prosecutors pursue these types of crimes zealously.

A conviction could result in fines and jail time in addition to more long-lasting implications for your:

  • Housing
  • Education
  • Employment
  • Financial options

If your rights, freedom, and reputation are at stake, you need to be certain that you are doing everything you can to protect yourself. Retain adept legal representation as soon as possible, so that our legal team can better preserve your future freedoms while protecting your rights and reputation.

Collins Rupp, P.C. provides affordable, aggressive legal representation for the assault or domestic violence charges in Utah you are facing.

Request a consultation with our domestic violence attorney today by calling 385-777-2753.

Assault Charges in Utah

Types of assault charges we represent include:

  • Domestic violence
  • Assault with a deadly weapon
  • Assault of a minor
  • Assault of a police officer or other civil servant
  • Sexual assault
  • Threatening violence

The court case will rely heavily on witness testimony. Our assault lawyers work quickly to gather investigate your case and gather evidence while witnesses' memories are still as fresh as possible. The court is going to want to review the circumstances that lead up to the alleged assault, your motivation behind your actions, and the actual assault itself.

What is Simple Assault?

Under Utah Criminal Code ยง 76-5-102, assault is charged against an individual who inflicted, or attempted to inflict, bodily harm on another individual. In Utah, for an assault charge you could face from a Class B Misdemeanor up to a 2nd Degree Felony depending on the surrounding circumstances.

If a weapon was involved, the charge would be elevated even further. Even if you never touched the person in question, that person can make their claim to the court that you meant to cause physical harm and you can be facing these serious criminal charges

What are the Penalties for Simple Assault in Utah?

In the state of Utah, assault is usually charged as a class B misdemeanor offense which comes with 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine. You can be charged with a Class A misdemeanor if the assault causes serious bodily injury or if the victim is pregnant and knew about the pregnancy. This comes with penalties of up to one year in jail and a $2,500 fine.

Know Your Rights after Domestic Violence Charges in Utah

Don't let the prosecution twist the circumstances of the event in their favor. We make sure your side of the story is heard. Protect your reputation and your future by retaining experienced legal counsel.

Our Salt Lake City assault attorneys are prepared to build an aggressive defense on your behalf. Reach out to our team at 385-777-2753.
Back to Top