call us385-777-2753

What Are the Consequences of One or More DUI Offenses in Utah? 

Posted on May 11, 2023 in Criminal Defense

Davis County Criminal Defense AttorneyIn Utah, driving under the influence (DUI) is a grave offense, as is true across virtually all of the United States. For drivers who are repeat-DUI offenders, the results of a conviction can be downright devastating. If you have already been convicted of at least one DUI in the past and you have been charged with another, you need to consider your legal options very seriously, as you are in extreme legal peril. Contact a DUI lawyer to ensure you have an advocate by your side as you face these severe charges. 

First and Second Offense DUIs in Utah

In Utah, the legal limit for blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.05 percent. If a driver is stopped and is found to have a BAC over the legal limit, they can be arrested and charged with DUI. The penalties for a first-time DUI offense in Utah may include fines, a loss of driving privileges, jail time, community service, alcohol treatment programs, and more. Then, suppose you are arrested for a second DUI within ten years. In that case, the charge is escalated from a Class B misdemeanor to a Class A misdemeanor, requiring the accused to spend a minimum of five days in jail, enhanced fines, and required supervised probation. 

What About a Third DUI? 

If a third DUI charge is received within ten years, it will be considered a felony offense. The penalties for such an offense can be quite severe, particularly if there are any aggravating circumstances in the case. With a third DUI, you will have to spend at least sixty days in jail, with the possibility of having to spend as much as five years in prison. You may also be at risk of losing your license for at least two years and be fined $10,000.

Please also be advised that you can be charged with a felony DUI even if it is your first offense, such as a DUI resulting in another person's injury or death.

Contact a Salt Lake City DUI Attorney

A DUI conviction can significantly impact someone’s life personally, professionally, and legally. However, you do have legal options at this time. Contact the skilled Davis County DUI lawyers with Collins Rupp, P.C. for top-tier criminal representation. Call 385-777-2753 for a free consultation. 



badge badge badge badge badge
Back to Top