call us385-777-2753

Will You Go to Prison for a Sex Crime Conviction?

 Posted on November 30, 2023 in Sex crimes

Blog ImageA sex crime can follow you for the rest of your life, with some of the most severe punishments pertaining to crimes against children. Utah imposes lengthy jail sentences for sex crime offenders, recently increasing minimum prison sentences for habitual offenders.

If you have been charged with a sex crime, it is crucial that you hire a Salt Lake City sex crimes attorney to defend your rights.

Utah Sex Crimes Against Children

A sex crime is any illegal activity involving a sexual component against another person. New research signifies that Utah’s rape rate is 55.5 per 100,000 people, with one in five children being sexually abused before turning 18 years old. In light of these alarming statistics, the Utah legislature has doubled down on punishments for sex crimes.

Two Utah sex crimes against minors include:

Sexual Abuse of a Child

Under Utah law, a person commits sexual abuse of a child if the offender touches the anus, buttocks, breasts, or other private areas of a child or commits any other indecencies.

For the offender to be charged with sexual abuse of a child, the offender must be at least 18 years of age, and the child must be younger than 14.

Rape of a Child

If a person has sexual intercourse with a child under the age of 14, this is considered child rape. Even slight touching falls under a rape charge

Felony Charges and Prison Sentences

In many circumstances, a sex offender will have to serve time in prison. In many crimes, there may be mitigating or aggravating factors that may lessen or extend an offender’s jail time.

Sexual Abuse of a Child

Child sexual abuse is normally a second-degree felony, and incarceration is mandatory under the law. A person who is convicted under the statute cannot be granted parole or have the offense category reduced (as would happen in a plea bargain).

A person convicted of a second-degree felony may serve up to 15 years in jail. However, if the defendant caused the child serious bodily harm or was convicted of a previous grievous sexual offense, the crime may be enhanced to a first-degree felony.

Rape of a Child

Child rape is usually a first-degree felony, carrying a prison term of 25 years to life. Just like in sexual abuse of a child, the same aggravating circumstances apply, which will lengthen your sentence.

Conversely, there may be mitigating circumstances, like if it is your first offense, if you were under 21 at the time of the offense, and if the court finds that justice is achieved if you serve less time in prison, then these factors may reduce your sentence.

If you have been recently charged with a sex crime, a Davis County sex crimes attorney will work with a prosecutor to obtain the least amount of jail time.

Facing a Sex Crime Conviction? Contact a Salt Lake City, UT Sex Crimes Attorney Today

Even after being released from prison, the stigma of a sex crime will follow you forever. If you are facing a sex crime conviction, let a Davis County, UT sex crimes attorney help you achieve the best possible outcome. Contact Collins Rupp, P.C. today online or by calling 385-777-2753 to schedule your free consultation.

Share this post:
badge badge badge badge badge
Back to Top